Antigua and Barbuda's Government Information and Services
Antigua and Barbuda Parliament
Antigua and Barbuda Parliament (Located on Queen Elizabeth Highway)

The Parliament of Antigua and Barbuda consists of Her Majesty the Queen of England, the Senate and the House of Representatives.

The Parliament as a whole is charged with certain responsibilities and is given special powers and privileges in order to effectively carry out its functions. Included among the latter are freedom of speech in Parliament, the authority to regulate its business by Standing Orders, as well as the freedom from civil or criminal proceedings for words spoken or written by Members before their respective House.

Special Powers of Parliament

Parliament takes decisions relating to :

Parliament has two chambers. The House of Representatives has 19 members, 17 members elected for a five year term in single-seat constituencies, 1 ex-officio member and 1 Speaker. The Senate has 17 appointed members.